Chapter Champions

Chapter Champions

The American Academy of Pediatrics (AAP), through its Chapter Champion programs, identifies chapter members to serve as a conduit for disseminating best policies and practices through the chapter membership on a variety of pediatric health care issues. The Chapter Champion programs also serve as a mechanism by which pediatricians can advocate for change at the local, state and national levels.

Programs managed at the national AAP level utilize the Chapter Champion framework to offer and provide technical assistance as well as tools and resources to pediatricians and other pediatric health care providers in a more direct manner. As a result, activities are more closely aligned with state, local, and/or community priorities.

Current Champions and Opportunities

IA AAP currently has Chapter Champions or designated contacts for the following areas:

CATCH Facilitator (Community Access To Child Health Program) -

Chapter Breastfeeding Coordinator - Dr. Tope Awelewa and Dr. Lisa Woodroffe

Disaster Preparedness -

E-cigarette Chapter Champion - Dr. Amy Kimball

Early Career Physicians - Dr. Megan Wubben

Early Childhood Champion - Dr. Amy Shriver

Early Hearing Detection & Intervention (EHDI) - Dr. Andrea Porter

Immunization - Dr. Nathan Boonstra & Dr. Ashlesha Kaushik

Infectious Disease Chapter Champion - Dr. Ashlesha Kaushik

Oral Health - Dr. J. Michael Metts

Osteopathic Pediatrician Chapter Champion - Dr. Gregory Garvin


Please contact us if you are interested in becoming a Chapter Champion for Iowa AAP.

Verified by MonsterInsights