Vote By May 16 – IA AAP Slate of Officers – 2018 Elections

The Iowa Chapter of the American Academy of Pediatrics is now conducting elections for three open positions on their Board of Directors to serve a two-year term, 2018-2020. Voting is open from April 16, 2018 to May 16, 2018 to voting members of the Iowa Chapter. The below are candidates slated by the Iowa Chapter AAP Nominating Committee.


Vice President – Daniel Wright, DO, FAAP

Daniel L. Wright, DO, FAAP is a General Pediatrician practicing in Waterloo, Iowa for nearly 20 years. He is excited to continue his calling to help children live healthy lives. He feels it is an honor and joy to take care of people’s children. He is a native Iowan, born and raised, and proud of the heritage here. He was one of the first graduates of Des Moines Christian High School. He graduated from Wartburg College. Then went to what is now Des Moines University for medical school where he graduated with the Pediatrics Award. He completed his residency at Blank Children’s Hospital in 1998 and served as Chief Resident during the third year. He has been an Iowa AAP board trustee from 2012 to the present. He spent many years in Waterloo’s FQHC, Peoples Community Health Clinic, and recently moved to a hospital-based clinic in Covenant Medical Center. He is currently the Chief of Pediatrics at Covenant. He has been active in teaching the local family practice residents and students from both medical schools in the state. He has championed the Reach Out and Read programs in both of his offices and recently started a mobile clinic for student vaccinations. One of his next goals is to improve mental health care for Iowa’s children. In addition, he enjoys spending time with his wife Janell, whom he met through Physics at Wartburg, and his two wonderful children Samuel and Kyla. He volunteers with the local BSA and is a founding leader of a Venturing crew, basically to work with older scouts and camp outdoors. He is active in the worship team at his local church continuing his love of playing the drums. He has also ridden in RAGBRAI for many years, most of them all the way, but occasionally just for the fun parts.


Treasurer – Meredith Fishbane-Gordon, MD, FAAP

Meredith Fishbane-Gordon, MD, FAAP is a Clinical Assistant Professor at the University of Iowa Stead Family Children’s Hospital in the Department of General Pediatrics and Adolescent Medicine.  She completed her pediatrics residency at The Children’s Hospital of Philadelphia in 2007 and worked in a busy urban practice in Massachusetts from 2007 until moving to Iowa City in 2014.  In addition to her role as an outpatient pediatrician, Dr. Fishbane-Gordon serves as the pediatric consultant for 1st Five Healthy Mental Development Initiative, which is run by the Iowa Department of Public Health (IDPH).  As part of her work with IDPH, she helps pediatric and family medicine practices incorporate standardized developmental surveillance and screening into their practice workflow.  Additionally, she is a member of the University of Iowa’s Trauma-Informed Care Initiative and is interested in ways to mitigate the effects of Adverse Childhood Experiences in her patients.  Dr. Fishbane-Gordon would like to become part of the leadership board for Iowa’s AAP chapter because she strongly supports the AAP’s advocacy mission and would like to take a more active role in helping to achieve the chapter’s vision.



Trustee – Amy Shriver, MD, FAAP

Amy Shriver, MD, FAAP, is a general pediatrician at Blank Children’s Hospital in Des Moines, Iowa. She is an adjunct professor of pediatrics at the University of Iowa Carver College of Medicine and at Des Moines University School of Osteopathic Medicine. She graduated from medical school at the University of Iowa in 2004 and completed her pediatric residency and Chief Residency at the University of Colorado. From 2008 to 2010 she was the Medical Director for Reach Out and Read at the Child Health Clinic at the Children’s Hospital Colorado. Since 2011, she has served as the Medical Director for Reach Out and Read Iowa. She has been active with the Iowa Chapter of the AAP since moving to Des Moines in 2010. She attended the 2010 IA AAP Strategic Planning meeting at which time she focused on two chapter priorities: legislative advocacy and increasing student and resident awareness and involvement in the AAP. She has been the IA AAP CATCH facilitator from 2011 to present, the chapter Reach Out and Read Champion, and the Chapter Resident Advocacy Liaison. She has received 3 National AAP grants promoting statewide advocacy education efforts, including the 2017 CATCH/CPTI Rome Visiting Professor in Child Poverty. She co-founded ICARE, the Iowa Collaborative for Advocacy in Resident Education with Dr. Jessie Marks at UIHC. She enjoys advocating at the state and U.S. Capitol and educating others on the importance of child advocacy in medicine.


The full proposed slate for the IA AAP Board of Directors for the 2018-2019 year, is as follows:

President – Amy Kimball, DO, FAAP

Past President – Marguerite Oetting, MD, FAAP

Vice President – Dan Wright, DO, FAAP

Secretary – Marianka Pille, MD, FAAP

Treasurer – Meredith Fishbane-Gordon, MD, FAAP

Trustee – Amy Shriver, MD, FAAP

Trustee – Stacey Wagner, MD, FAAP

Trustee – Open for Appointment


For questions regarding elections please contact the Iowa Chapter AAP.

Verified by MonsterInsights