Refugee Health – Webinar Series

Review of Best Practices and Updates to Screening Guidance

Please join us for the free, three-part Center of Excellence in Newcomer Health webinar series in September and October.

______________________________

 

Part I: Introduction to Refugee Health (9/14)

Tuesday, September 14, 2021

(12 – 1 p.m. ET | 11 a.m. – 12 p.m. CT | 10 – 11 a.m. MT | 9 – 10 a.m. PT)

Register Here: Part 1: Introduction to Refugee Health

Learning Objectives:

  • Identify three trends in the demographics and health of refugees
  • Identify at least three key partners in refugee health coordination and screening
  • Describe the goals and processes of the overseas and domestic medical screenings
  • Describe three key considerations when receiving a refugee (routine or with known medical needs)

Moderator:

Emily Jentes, MPH, PhDDomestic Team lead; Immigrant, Refugee, and Migrant Health (IRMH) Branch, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention

Presenters:

Harith Mayali, MBChB, MPH

Medical Movement Coordinator; International Organization for Migration, United Nations Migrations agency, Washington, DC

Jennifer Beeler, MPHHealth Communications Specialist; Division of Global Migration and Quarantine, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (via Kapili Services, LLC)
Patricia Walker, MDSenior Research Fellow; HealthPartners InstituteProfessor of Medicine; Department of Internal Medicine, University of MinnesotaFaculty; Global Medicine, University of MinnesotaSpecial Advisor to Board of Directors; American Society of Tropical Medicine and Hygiene

____________________________________

Part II: Medical Screening of Refugee Children (9/24)

Friday, September 24, 2021

(12 – 1 p.m. ET | 11 a.m. – 12 p.m. CT | 10 – 11 a.m. MT | 9 – 10 a.m. PT)

Register Here: Part 2: Medical Screening of Refugee Children

Learning Objectives:

  • Identify current guidance for pediatric refugee screening in North America
  • Evaluate selected evidence supporting these guidance documents
  • Make appropriate clinical decisions when implementing refugee health screening for children new to the U.S.

Moderator

Katherine Yun, MD, MHSAttending Physician; Children Hospital of Philadelphia (CHOP)Education Coordinator; Refugee Health Program, CHOPFellowship Director; Academic General Pediatrics, CHOPAssistant Professor of Pediatrics; Perelman School of Medicine, University of Pennsylvania

Presenters:

Janine Young, MD, FAAPMedical Director; Denver Health Refugee ClinicMedical Co-Director; Denver Health Human Rights ClinicAssociate Professor; Dept. of General Pediatrics, University of Colorado School of Medicine
Leela Nath Kuikel, MSCommunity Health Worker (CHW) and Project Coordinator; Children Hospital of Philadelphia (CHOP)Founding Executive Director; Bhutanese American Organization-Philadelphia (BAO-P)Former refugee and parent of two children

___________________________________

Part III: Medical Screening of Refugee Adults (10/7)

Thursday, October 7, 2021

(3 – 4 p.m. ET | 2 – 3 p.m. CT | 1 – 2 p.m. MT | 12 – 1 p.m. PT)

Register Here: Part 3: Medical Screening of Refugee Adults

Learning Objectives:

  • Identify current guidance for adult refugee screening in North America
  • Evaluate selected evidence supporting these guidance documents
  • Make appropriate clinical decisions when implementing refugee health screening for adults new to the U.S.

Presenters:

Ann Settgast, MD, DTM&H

Primary Care Physician; Center for International Health, HealthPartnersTravel Medicine Physician/Consultant; Travel and Tropical Medicine, HealthPartnersPreceptor for internal medicine residents; Center for International Health, HealthPartnersFaculty; Global Health Medicine, University of Minnesota Medical School

Marc Altshuler, MD

Professor of Family and Community Medicine; Sidney Kimmel Medical College, Thomas Jefferson UniversityAttending Physician; Dept. of Family and Community Medicine, Thomas Jefferson University (TJU) HospitalResidency Program Director; Dept. of Family and Community Medicine, TJU HospitalDirector; Jefferson Center for Refugee Health (CRH), TJU Hospital